top of page

Our History

What is now ClarkMUN was begun in the fall of 2010 as the Clark University High School Model United Nations (CUHSMUN). Katerina Antoniou ’10, Sarah Richard ’11, Da Eun Lee ’12, Angelica Surra ’12 and others, along with MUN at Clark’s Faculty Advisor Prof. Srinivasan Sitaraman, were all involved in its creation.


Clark’s first contemporary high school conference was held a semester after its first middle school one was organized jointly with the United Nations Association of Greater Boston (UNAGB). That middle school conference, first helmed by Katerina and Sarah as secretaries-general and held on March 27, 2010, continues today as the Worcester Area Model United Nations, which is still put together by MUN at Clark each spring.

Clark did, however, hold high school Model UN conferences before 2010. In 1985, Michelle Phillips ’85 founded a high school conference fittingly named HSMUN. It was this conference that would later be revived as CUHSMUN and eventually take on its current form as ClarkMUN.

It is in no small part due to the hard work and determination of our predecessors that ClarkMUN is now well-established as one of the best fall conferences in the region. Here we recognize and thank all those who came before us for their efforts and contributions.

Past Secretariats

ClarkMUN XII — March 26th, 2022

Jessie Garbeil '23, Secretary General

Malachy Taplin '23, Director General

Clare Johnston '24, Undersecretary-General of Logistics

Wynnie Gross '24, Undersecretary-General of Committees

Max Rosenfeld '24, Director of Outreach

Cayetana Rodriguez '25, Director of Multimedia

Esperanza Garschina '25, Logistics Officer

ClarkMUN XI — November, 2019

Catie Corneau '21, Secretary General 

Jon Hayes '23, Director General 

Evan Medcraft '22, Undersecretary-General of Committees

Rebecca Carrillo '23, Director of Multimedia 

Mia Levine '23, Logistics Officer

ClarkMUN X — November 16th, 2019

Valeria Chavez '21, Secretary General 

Alex Dunhom '21, Director General 

Joey Nguyen '22, Undersecretary-General of Logistics

Zachary Zawila '22, Director of Multimedia 

Abhiram Kolluri '22, Director of Public Information

Julien Faucheux '21, Public Information Officer

Ryan Freed '22, Logistics Officer

Rebecca Carrillo '23, Secretariat Assistant 

ClarkMUN IX — November 17, 2018

David Sullivan '20, Secretary-General

Lars Dahl '20, Director-General

Curan VanDerWielen '21, Director of Operations

Antonella Davi '19, Undersecretary-General of Committees

ClarkMUN VIII — November 18, 2017

Josh Merchat ’19, Secretary-General

David Sullivan ’20, Director of Administration

Lars Dahl ’20, Director of Operations

ClarkMUN VII — November 19, 2016

Cory Bisbee ’19, Secretary-General

Josh Merchat ’19, Director-General

Brendan Burgess ’18, Undersecretary-General

Corie Welch ’17, Undersecretary-General


CUHSMUN VI — November 7, 2015

Corie Welch ’17, Secretary-General

Bil Carter, Under-Secretary-General

Charis Smuthkochorn ’18, Under-Secretary-General

​CUHSMUN V — October 25, 2014

Brenna Dougherty ’15, Secretary-General

Corie Welch ’17, Under-Secretary-General


CUHSMUN IV — November 9, 2013

Seble Alemu ’13, Secretary-General

Bil Carter, Under-Secretary-General


CUHSMUN III — December 1, 2012

Samer Said ’13, Secretary-General



Da Eun Lee ’12, Secretary-General

Angelica Surra ’12


CUHSMUN I — November 13, 2010

Sarah Richard ’11, Secretary-General


HSMUN — 1985

Michelle Phillips ’85

bottom of page